RAC review 2026
A thorough full check with a £30,000 guarantee and import/export data, let down by a thin Basic tier and a Multi Check that doesn’t say how many checks it includes.
- Full check price
- £14.99
- Product compared
- Full Check
- Data guarantee
- £30,000
- Best for
- Buyers who want a big-name brand and import/export data
Verdict
The RAC Full Check is one of the most thorough big-brand checks. For £14.99 it lists outstanding finance details, stolen status, write-off details, a mileage discrepancy check, MOT history, previous owners, full plate-change history, import/export and scrapped markers. It also includes a £30,000 data guarantee, valid for two years.
It loses ground on pricing. The £9.98 Basic Check leaves out mileage, MOT and the guarantee, and the £29.97 Multi Check doesn’t say how many checks you get.
How RAC scores
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coverage and included checks | 30% | 9.0 | The Full Check lists all core checks plus MOT, keepers, full plate history, import/export, scrapped and VIN. |
| Price and value | 25% | 8.0 | £14.99 with a £30,000 guarantee and £35 of RAC Shop vouchers. |
| Risk clarity | 20% | 8.5 | Each core check is clearly named. The mileage check is described as a comparison with the last MOT reading. |
| Pricing transparency | 10% | 7.0 | The three-column table is clear, but the Multi Check doesn’t say how many checks it includes. |
| Report usability | 15% | 8.0 | Clear product information from a familiar brand, though the report layout isn’t shown in full. |
| Weighted score | 100% | 8.3 | Sum of each score × its weight. |
What the RAC full check includes
Based on what RAC lists for its Full Check. “Not listed” means the provider doesn’t mention it, not that it has confirmed it’s missing.
- Included Outstanding finance core Included
- Included Stolen vehicle check core Included
- Included Insurance write-off core Included
- Included: Compares recorded mileage with the last MOT reading Mileage check core Included: Compares recorded mileage with the last MOT reading
- Included MOT history Included
- Included Previous keepers Included
- Included: Full plate-change history Plate changes Included: Full plate-change history
- Included Imported / exported Included
- Included Scrapped marker Included
- Not listed by provider Colour changes Not listed by provider
- Included VIN / logbook match Included
- Not listed by provider High-risk marker Not listed by provider
- Not listed by provider Valuation Not listed by provider
- Not listed by provider Damage records Not listed by provider
Packages and prices
| Package | Price | Checks | Finance, stolen and write-off | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic Check | £9.98 | 1 | No | Stolen, write-off flag, import/export and basic outstanding-debt details only. No mileage, MOT or guarantee. |
| Full Check compared | £14.99 | 1 | Yes | Includes the £30,000 data guarantee and £35 of RAC Shop vouchers. |
| Multi Check | £29.97 | Not stated | Yes | Number of checks not stated on the page. Includes £55 of RAC Shop vouchers. |
Three tiers in a clear table. The Full and Multi Check list the same data. Multi-check: Multi Check £29.97 (number of checks not stated).
Strengths
- The Full Check lists import/export, MOT history and full plate history
- £30,000 data guarantee, valid for two years
- Includes RAC breakdown and MOT failure data
Weaknesses
- Three tiers. The £9.98 Basic Check omits mileage, MOT and the guarantee
- The £29.97 Multi Check doesn’t state how many checks it includes
- The mileage check compares against the last MOT reading
Pricing analysis
There are three tiers: Basic (£9.98), Full (£14.99, with £35 of RAC Shop vouchers) and Multi Check (£29.97, with £55 of vouchers). The Full Check is the one to buy. The Basic Check only gives basic outstanding-debt details and a write-off flag, without mileage or the guarantee.
The RAC describes its mileage discrepancy check as a comparison with the last MOT reading, which is similar to other MOT-based mileage checks.
Guarantee: £30,000. Qualifying claims, valid for two years from the check date. Safety recall data is not covered.
Usability analysis
The RAC sets out what each tier includes in a clear comparison table. The Full Check adds useful extras such as tax information, CO2, running costs and RAC breakdown data. We haven’t seen a complete sample report, so we scored usability at 8.
Who RAC is best for
Buyers who want a big-name brand and import/export data. If you want a familiar brand, import/export data and a two-year guarantee for under £15, the RAC Full Check is a strong choice.
Free check: Free car check: basic vehicle details, first registration date and MOT expiry.
Alternatives to RAC
- Carpeep #1 · 9.0/10 · £15 The same price bracket with one simple product and a risk-first report.
- AA #6 · 8.1/10 · £14.99 Also £14.99 with a £30,000 guarantee, and much cheaper for several cars.
- MotorCheck #4 · 8.6/10 · £9.99 Similar core coverage and guarantee for £9.99.
Final verdict
Buy the Full Check, not the Basic Check, and the RAC gives you a comprehensive report with a long guarantee for £14.99. Clearer multi-check pricing would push it higher.
Sources and verification
Facts on this page were checked against RAC’s own website on . Verification confidence: High. Checked against the RAC Car Data Check and free car check pages.
- RAC Car Data Check (opens in a new tab) (accessed 6 October 2026)
- RAC free car check (opens in a new tab) (accessed 6 October 2026)
Spotted something out of date? Send us a correction.